Exploring Azure Service Bus and Azure Queue Storage Queues

We can develop message-based solutions using either Service Bus or Queue Storage Queues

Will Velida
9 min readAug 1, 2020

In four weeks time, I plan to take my AZ-204 exam. I’ve been working with Azure in my day-to-day job for almost 2 years now, but taking a look at the exam skills outline, there are a few technologies on there that I’ve never touched before.

So in order to help my preparation for the exam, I plan to write a series of blog posts on each skill measured. Hopefully this will not just reinforce my learning, but also help others who may be taking AZ-204 themselves, or just want to learn something new.

In this article, I’m going to be looking at the two technologies tested for developing message-based solutions, Azure Service Bus and Azure Queue Storage queues. My team primarily uses Event Hubs as our messaging broker, so it’s going to be interesting to learn what Service Bus and Queue Storage can offer.

For this tutorial, I’ll be developing a Azure Function app that will send messages to both Service Bus and Queue Storage (via separate POST requests). The full sample code can be found here.

What is Azure Service Bus?

--

--

Will Velida

Lead Software Engineer at Azenix | Ex-MSFT | International Conference Speaker. | GitHub: https://github.com/willvelida